Executive Board Members

Vladimir Benes

Nikolai Hopf

Klaus Resch

Hirotoshi Sano

Selva Kumar

Enrique Osario

Fuminari Komatsu

Qing Lan

Scott Robertson

Shigeru Miyachi

Tetsuya Nagatani

Sakchai Sae-Heng

Shoichiro Ishihara

Salman Sharif

Martin Betagg

Neurosurgery has been improving and changing at a breathless pace. These changes come with challenges to maintain a modern, efficient and responsible skill and technique. The new concepts rooted deep in the basic knowledge of disease and its complications can help in attaining excellence. The performance of a neurosurgical procedure has always been questioned by the changing demands of society. The primary objective of neurosurgeons is to achieve the best possible outcome for patients while minimizing nervous-system injury through their interventions, without compromising the intended goal of surgery. Great advances in the practice of minimally invasive neurosurgery over the past couple of decades have been made possible through technological advances providing increasingly sophisticated instrumentation for use in the operating room, necessitating the acquisition of new surgical skills and know-how. The philosophy of minimal invasiveness is going to bring a new revolution in Neurological Surgery. This concept of treatment pertains to diseases of brain, spinal cord and nerves. This explosion in neuroscience; though minimal for the patients, needs maximum preparation for the neurosurgeons in terms of devices and skill development. We all need to be participatory and instrumental in the development of evidence-based neurosurgery in this area, and thus strengthen the culture of perfection. It’s the need of time to be meticulous in approach and give due respect to the nervous tissue by causing negligible damage. The success of minimally invasive neurosurgery rests on laying the stones on the strong foundation of basic fundamental concepts and techniques handed over by the eminent neurosurgeons of the past.

Yoko Kato,M.D.,Ph.D.
President, Minimally Invasive Technique in Neurosurgery (ISMINS)
Secretary and Consortium member of WFNS Foundation
President, Asian Congress of Neurological Surgeons (ACNS)
Chairperson of WFNS Fund-Raising Committee
Editor in Chief of Asian Journal of Neurosurgery
Exective board member of The Japan Neurosurgical Society
Professor, Department of Neurosurgery

Fujita Health University Banbuntane Hotokukai Hospital